Posted in Dressage, Training

Little Mighty: Adventures with a Mustang

20430045_10103526407019285_1542557210128593506_nIt has been about six weeks since I fetched my newest project in rationality home, and about four weeks since I started working with her. As I mentioned in my last post it took a certain amount of reserve, perseverance in mind, and resolve to overcome the change of adding a new herd member and the buyer’s remorse and anxiety of being a not so experienced “horse trainer,” as rider of horses that have previously been …. “Trained.”  I will tell you I did not go in completely blind; I have over 20 years’ experience riding, mostly dressage. I have trained with Grand Prix trainers and I have sat more than a few babies in my life. I have started a couple lightly, two of my own, and in the past a couple for others.  I am no new comer to the horse industry however this is my first untrained Mustang and my first baby who really wasn’t even taught how to lead politely. I am a huge fan of Natural Horsemanship so when I started investigating this crazy notion of getting a Mustang, I literally spent close to 24 hours a week in research and video-watching, for weeks .. I loved watching Clinton Anderson, ”Mustang Maddy,” and several other trainers who had developed the quiet understanding in the unspoken language of horses into an art form and educational podium.

19990256_10103487806794445_8957151126972956034_n
Can’t you see the future Piaffe?!

While daunting, I knew I could do it. I just needed to decide if it was what I wanted to do. So I did. I had dreams of this beautiful little horse doing FEI dressage, hitting the Cross Country, and trail riding. Big dreams and a little horse; So here we are!

From my last post, The session on July 9, was basic. Circle right, change direction, circle left.. Of course with horses, basic doesn’t mean easy! Added the saddle and continued the circling from the ground!

In a strong attempt to teach about mounting I gently flapped the fenders of the saddle against her side, pulled gently on the horse and then, with no real adverse response attempted the mount! I was quickly reminded that next time I must buy a horse with withers, as the saddle slid sideways.. I decided to introduce the mounting block, actually, a stool. I sat that stool down in front of the mare, and she picked it up. I put it down, she picked it up and finally I put it down next to her and I climb up before she has a chance to think about picking up the block again and do some bouncing and circles around me and changes of direction and more bouncing and leaning on her. There were no signs of ill will towards me, so I gently sat down on her. She stood still, raising her head in a suspicious manner but made no move. I did some yielding on the haunches. Perfect! I tried some yielding of the forehand and though she was a little startled, I made a mental note to get her more used to that on the ground. The saddle was slipping in each direction depending on where she went or shifted her weight so with a happy heart I hopped off and praised the little mighty horse for a job well done.

This week, July 26-28, I was able to work with her feet a little more. I gave her a bath and we worked on desensitizing of the hose and the fly spray. Lots of ground work; at Liberty is what I always start with and then with a halter and 14’ lead rope. This week she seemed still, very, cool.

I decided with a friend there to spot me, I would get on again. I felt like it would be better to try bareback since the saddle slipped side to side so much last time. I felt I know the horse well enough to read her and know if I should or should not get on. So I repeated the circles and changes of direction and such and just gently climbed on while I had her standing still. I did have my dressage whip as a reinforcement to my leg and rein which she was fine with. I usually use a carrot stick so she is sort of used to it. We had a few deep discussions about steering but after working for a bit she seemed to get it. She is very sensitive to my whistle as a cue to halt so I incorporated that into the ride. She was very receptive to the halt and my verbal command for trot and so, with a soaring heart I walked and trot in both directions, did changes of direction, and halted my Little Mighty several times. We worked on moving away from the taps of the whip on her shoulder and there was no hoopla, no bucking, no rearing, no real issue, other than basic mis-understanding that comes with teaching a creature something new. It was amazing. She is as wide and comfy as a couch and I loved every minute of it. My confidence keeps going up with this horse and inspires me that maybe I could help more Mustangs in the future.

July 30: I caught Mia sunbathing, mid-morning. I walked out to her, wondering how far I could get before she got up, but she didn’t. She looked at me with big soulful eyes and I walked right up to her and sat down like old friends meeting for tea. I rubbed her face and she closed her eyes, took a deep breath and laid her big beautiful head in my lap. As I continued to lightly stroke her forelock and her eyes and face she started breathing so deep that she sounded like she was snoring. It was one of the most amazing moments of my life. This horse who just months ago I didn’t know existed, weeks ago feared I might never love and possibly would fail; A horse born out of the Wild with instincts to run from a predatory beast such as man, would give herself over completely to me.

I honestly don’t know I have ever felt that connection before. I was filled with purpose, calm and hope. Of course it only lasted maybe 10 or 15 minutes but it was literally the most amazing thing and I have felt this really strong pull towards this horse all day, even now, sitting in my Dispatch center. I am totally smitten and falling in love with this Mighty, little, horse.

20479671_10103526400871605_1576829596749439063_n

* ALL PHOTOS BY DRAGONFLY PHOTOGRAPHY. POLAND, MAINE *

Author:

An aspiring Dressage Queen working up the ranks as an Adult Amateur; Juggling life and trying to stay on for the ride.

Leave a comment